6 Reasons FINAL FANTASY XIV: Heavensward being added to the Free Trial makes a great thing even better

It’s awesome… and it’s now available to all FINAL FANTASY XIV Online players at no additional cost!
By Duncan Heaney

Who doesn’t love free stuff?

In case you missed it, FINAL FANTASY XIV: Heavensward is now included as part of the expanded Free Trial. What’s more, all existing and future A Realm Reborn owners will also have access to this beloved expansion and all of its benefits!

That means anyone who signs up for the Free Trial, or owns or purchases the FINAL FANTASY XIV Online Starter Edition, now gets two whole RPGs-worth of content at no additional cost.

The expansion is a must-play for old and new players alike, and considering the price (or lack thereof), this is the perfect opportunity. But you may be wondering: why? What makes Heavensward so good?

Here are six reasons:

1. It has dragons and snow… wait, why does that sound familiar?

2019 seems like a long time ago, but for a while there we were all obsessed with a certain TV show about dragons. To be honest, we kinda miss it.

Fortunately, Heavensward scratches that itch because it’s all about dragons. Also snow. There are big walls too, if you want to stretch this already tenuous connection.

The main crux of the expansion’s story concerns the Dragonsong War. This conflict between Ishgard and the scaly Dravanian Horde has continued for over a thousand years, with no end in sight.

The Warrior of Light (that’s you by the way) gets drawn into the conflict, and starts to work towards peace - even if that involves taking on a few old, powerful (and very angry) dragons.

So you have snow, dragons and conflict with a strange and ancient enemy. Oh, and just putting this out there for no particular reason… Heavensward’s story has a satisfying ending.

2. It adds a whole new race - the Au Ra

One of the joys of the first FINAL FANTASY XIV Online expansion is that it adds a new playable race, the Au Ra - and now they’re available in the Free Trial! Their curved horns and beautifully patterned scales often give rise to speculation that this race is the progeny of dragons (a long since disputed claim)!

Not only does this new race add tons of new customization options for players, they also bring further richness and diversity to the world of Hydaelyn.

Players can choose between two clans: the conflict-focused Xaela and the more tranquil Raen. Each has a distinct look and culture that’s well worth digging into for lore fiends.

3. It adds new jobs too

Heavensward opens up your gameplay options in a big way. The expansion adds three new jobs: Dark Knight, Astrologian and Machinist (also now playable in the expanded Free Trial!).

If you want to check out these jobs in action, you should check out the Heavensward trailer:

Dark Knights act as tanks, using a greatsword to inflict high levels of damage on their foes. They have the ability to draw on the powers of darkness to enhance their weapons, using their skills to dish out damage and drain HP from enemies.

Astrologians specialize in healing and are also masters of divination and arcana. They use their knowledge of the constellations to draw cards and support their allies by bestowing them with beneficial effects.

Machinists are masters of advanced armaments, and utilize a variety of mechanical gizmos to help them in battle—anything from drills and crossbows to flamethrowers and, of course, their very own Automaton Queen robot.

To access these jobs, players must have completed the A Realm Reborn main scenario and achieved level 50 with at least one job.

4. Haurchefant is just the coolest dude

Haurchefant Greystone is the true definition of a fan-favorite character.

Although he first appeared in A Realm Reborn, it’s in Heavensward where he truly comes into his own.

Despite being the illegitimate son of Count Edmont de Fortemps, Haurchefant has the respect and advantages that come with being part of a noble family. He separates himself from his noble peers in Ishgard in one way though - he’s friendly, and welcoming to player characters.

He’s helpful too, even joining the party at one point in the story. He’s a regular presence throughout the main Heavensward storyline, and offers both practical support and words of encouragement to the heroes.

Long story short, Haurchefant is the man, and being in his company is time well-spent.

5. You can fly! High up in the sky!

One of the most popular new features added in Heavensward was the ability to fly… and now this has been added to A Realm Reborn areas too!

That means that you can now take to the skies and enjoy the sights of Eorzea from above. Okay, so you need a mount, and to have completed The Ultimate Weapon quest, but when you’ve done that, the sky’s the limit.

After hours of adventuring on land, launching into the air feels liberating. It’s fast and fun… not to mention a good way to escape from a fight if you get in over your head.

6. Everyone can play it!

Worth reiterating - Heavensward is available as standard in the Free Trial, which means that you can play the whole thing without spending a penny, cent or gil.

Both the Free Trial and Starter Editions of the game now include all the content from the expansion, including the new jobs, the Au Ra race, and of course, my bro Haurchefant.

If you’re a returning player who owns A Realm Reborn, don’t worry because you get it all too! All you have to do is renew your subscription to the game, and once you’ve progressed far enough in the story and gained enough levels, you’ll have access to all Heavensward has to offer.

How to get FINAL FANTASY XIV: Heavensward

Heavensward is available for new and returning players in all editions of FINAL FANTASY XIV Online. Yes, all of them.

There are three ways for new players to get FINAL FANTASY XIV Online:

FINAL FANTASY XIV Free Trial: Gives you the all the content from A Realm Reborn (which has recently been streamlined to make it even more welcoming to new players), and Heavensward expansion. Play any or all A Realm Reborn and Heavensward jobs up to level 60 without the need for a subscription and no limit on play time.

FINAL FANTASY XIV: Starter Edition: Includes all the content from A Realm Reborn (including the revamped main questline) and Heavensward. Play with no restrictions up to level 60 (includes 30 days of free game time, after which a subscription is required).

FINAL FANTASY XIV: Complete Edition: Gives you the full FINAL FANTASY XIV Online experience - including A Realm Reborn and Heavensward scenarios, as well as the other expansions: Stormblood and Shadowbringers.

If you already own the FINAL FANTASY XIV Online Starter Edition, you will get Heavensward and its associated content automatically. Simply renew your subscription to the game and log in to resume your adventure!