The FINAL FANTASY XIV Online Starter Guide Video Series is here!

New to the acclaimed MMORPG? This video series teaches you everything you need to know about the early parts of the game, so you can get straight to the fun!
By Duncan Heaney

One of the best things about FINAL FANTASY XIV Online is how welcoming it is.

Whether you’re playing solo at your own pace, or joining friends to adventure together, the game embraces you with open arms - be who you want, and play how you want, it says.

Even so, we also recognise that FINAL FANTASY XIV Online is also a daunting game for some. That’s partly because it’s big - as in REALLY big. With four expansions, deep lore, hundreds of hours of potential playtime and such a massively diverse list of activities to partake in, it feels like it would be hard to know where to even start.

That’s where our Starter Guide video series comes in!

The FINAL FANTASY XIV Online Starter Guide Video Series

This brand new seven-part series guides you through your first steps in the land of Eorzea, and teaches you everything you need to know to hit the ground running. Each video is short and easily-digestible, so it’s worth sparing a few minutes to check them out!

The series itself focuses on a new player called Kaz, and his mentor Mayra. Over the course of the series, you’ll see Kaz develop from fresh-faced adventurer to burgeoning hero - and learn some tips and tricks for the game along the way!

Each episode focuses on a different aspect of the new player experience, teaching you about basic game mechanics, dungeons, boss battles and more. In the first video in the series, “Series Introduction”, Mayra guides you and Kaz gently into the world of FINAL FANTASY XIV Online.

Watch it here:

The rest of the series can be viewed at Here’s a brief rundown of each episode:

  • Series Introduction - Join veteran adventurer Mayra as she guides new player Kaz to the world of FINAL FANTASY XIV.

  • Episode 1: The Adventure Begins - Kaz creates his character and takes his first steps in Eorzea. Mayra introduces Kaz to the map and different quest types so he can enjoy the main story without getting lost.

  • Episode 2: Meet Your FATE - Mayra introduces Kaz to class quests and how he can unlock different classes starting at level 10. Kaz encounters his first FATE, an open world encounter where everyone nearby can take part.

  • Episode 3: Hall of the Novice - Kaz learns how to organize his cluttered inventory and discovers the Recommended Gear feature. Mayra takes Kaz to the Hall of the Novice where he gets a crash course on party combat and a new set of gear.

  • Episode 4: Do Your Duty - Putting his newly acquired skills to the test, Kaz teams up with Mayra to form a light party via the Duty Finder to tackle his first dungeon. Kaz learns how dungeon rewards are distributed via Need, Greed, and Pass.

  • Episode 5: Trial by Fire - Kaz forms his own party and takes on his first trial: an epic boss battle. As his renown grows, Kaz is recruited by one of three Grand Companies of Eorzea, and unlocks his very own chocobo mount at level 20.

  • Episode 6: The End of the Beginning - Mayra regales Kaz with all he has learned so far and all he still has to look forward to in the Free Trial… and beyond!

Watch the full series here:

We hope you enjoy the series - it’s packed with information and a lot of fun in its own right. If you want to follow Kaz’s example and step into the world of FINAL FANTASY XIV Online, you should check out the Free Trial.

It lets you play through all the content of A Realm Reborn, and the first expansion Heavensward, and take your character up to level 60. It’s basically the equivalent of two full FINAL FANTASY games - and there’s no restriction on play time either!

Whether you want to play it solo, or join other players, you’re free to play how you like. And considering it’s free, there’s no reason not to give it a go!

If you like what you play (and we have no doubt you will), the FINAL FANTASY XIV Online Complete Edition gives you the full experience, including the acclaimed expansions Stormblood, Shadowbringers and Endwalker.

Finally, to stay up to date with news and information about FINAL FANTASY XIV Online, make sure you follow the team on social media: