New FINAL FANTASY XVI DLC, The Rising Tide, available now!

Leviathan the Lost has been located! Here’s everything you can expect from this epic new expansion for FINAL FANTASY XVI!
By Duncan Heaney

Leviathan has arrived and a new adventure for Clive Rosfield is about to begin! The Rising Tide, the new expansion for FINAL FANTASY XVI, is now available to download!

As well as introducing a new Eikon in Leviathan, it also offers new abilities for Clive, a massive new region to explore, a challenging new endgame mode and much more. What’s more, it's launched alongside a new patch that delivers new features and quality-of-life improvements!

You can expect action, intrigue, and a heck of a lot of water… but what exactly does the DLC and Patch 1.03 deliver?

What is The Rising Tide about?

Set before the end of the FINAL FANTASY XVI story, this new DLC story begins when an unmarked letter arrives at the hideaway. It contains a most curious request - the Dominant of Leviathan, long lost Eikon of Water, is in need of rescue.

In response to this plea, Clive and his companions journey to the hidden land of Mysidia, where they encounter the tragic history of a forgotten people.

Joined by a mysterious new ally named Shula, you’ll explore a beautiful new region full of new sights and sounds, side stories that reveal more about the area and its people, and new threats - including tonberries! The classic FINAL FANTASY icon can be found in the ominous Aire of Hours - once a bastion of civilization, now silent save for the incessant sharpening of knives.

What new abilities does Clive have access to?

It’s probably not too much of a spoiler to say that Clive gains access to a whole new set of Eikonic Abilities, based around Leviathan the Lost.

Armed with the might of the Eikon of Water, Clive can tame the tides to drown enemies near and far and utilize Serpent’s Cry to call for a sea-spitting serpent that deals precision strikes to foes at great distances.

Clive will grow stronger in another way too. The level cap has increased from 50 to 60 in Story Focused and Action Focused Modes and from 100 to 110 in FINAL FANTASY mode (New Game+).

Introducing Kairos Gate

Once you complete The Rising Tide and the main game, you’ll unlock an awesome new endgame mode: Kairos Gate.

Available through the Arete Stone, Kairos Gate lets you delve into the depths of a virtual underworld, taking on wave after wave of increasingly tougher foes. In addition to earning materials and weapons through completing stages, you’ll earn points as you play, which can be used to upgrade Clive. The better you battle, the more points you’ll get, so you’d best bring your A-game.

Do you have what it takes to rank on the global leaderboard?

How do you get The Rising Tide DLC?

The new DLC is available as part of the FINAL FANTASY XVI Expansion Pass, which also includes the previously-released Echoes of the Fallen DLC. This is the most cost-effective way to get access to both DLC packs.

If preferred, the DLC can also be purchased separately. Regardless of whether you get it standalone or in the Expansion Pass, you’ll gain access to some awesome bonuses, including:

  • A reimagined version of the ‘Curtana’ the signature weapon of FINAL FANTASY XIV Online’s Warrior of Light.

  • Two new Orchestrion Rolls to play in the hideaway featuring music from FINAL FANTASY XIV - Torn from the Heavens and Through the Maelstrom.

But The Rising Tide isn’t the only new thing coming to FINAL FANTASY XVI…

What’s in Update Ver. 1.30?

The new update for FINAL FANTASY XVI adds loads of new quality-of-life improvements to the full game, making for an even smoother and more enjoyable adventure. These include:

  • A new ‘Quick Complete’ feature, which lets you return to a quest giver immediately

  • Icon updates for important character quests

  • A new Skill Set feature, which allows you to save up to five unique Feat and Ability sets

  • Abilities and Accessories have been adjusted for easier use

  • You can now customize button layouts

  • New Photo Mode features, including tone correction, screen effects and more

  • Loads of new Orchestrion Rolls

The new update is out now - you do not need to own the DLC to get it.

We hope you’re excited to return to the world of FINAL FANTASY XVI! The Rising Tide is available to download now!

The previous DLC, Echoes of the Fallen is also available as part of the Expansion Pass or as a separate purchase. It sends Clive and his friends off on a new quest to investigate some mysterious new crystals… and up the mysterious Sagespire. It features a gripping new story with some fascinating lore, and some of the best boss battles of the game - especially the terrifying Omega.

To stay up to date with news and information about FINAL FANTASY XVI and other Square Enix games, be sure to follow us on social media: