This week, we take a listen to classic tracks from the original FINAL FANTASY and its musically majestic sequel! Let’s take a trip down memory lane…
By Duncan Heaney

This is where it all began!

The original FINAL FANTASY was a groundbreaker in 1987, offering an exciting and expansive adventure that continues to inspire the RPG genre. But it wasn’t just the gameplay that made it stand out - it was also the music.

Despite the limited sound capabilities of early consoles, legendary composer Nobuo Uematsu was able to create rich tones and memorable melodies that live on to this day. Many of the motifs that appear in this game echo through the entirety of the series and go a long way to helping the games feel connected - despite their very different settings and gameplay styles.

Playing through these tracks in THEATRHYTHM FINAL BAR LINE may bring back feelings of nostalgia for older fans, but they also hold up as brilliant pieces of music in their own right. Here are the tracks in the game:

  • Opening Theme (EMS/FMS)
  • Main Theme (FMS)
  • Matoya's Cave (FMS)
  • Battle (BMS)
  • Castle Cornelia (FMS)
  • Mt. Gulg (FMS)
  • Miniboss Battle (BMS)
  • Final Battle (BMS)
  • Sunken Shrine (FMS)
  • Airship (FMS)

As ever, let’s dive into some of our favorites:

Opening Theme

The Opening Theme to FINAL FANTASY is instantly recognizable. This powerful melody has become the main theme for the entire series, appearing in multiple games over the last 35 years.

This track changes in style and instrumentation throughout the series, but every single version owes a debt to this - the OG FINAL FANTASY music track. What can we say - it’s iconic.

Battle (BMS)

Strong battle themes have been a consistent element of all FINAL FANTASY games, and it’s another element of the series that emerged fully formed in this original game. The original battle track is a fast-paced piece that reflects the excitement and danger of the game’s pioneering battle system.

You’ll be spending a long time on this theme, and it’s a testament to the incredible talents of Nobuo Uematsu that it never gets old.


FINAL FANTASY II established what is perhaps the biggest trademark of the series - and we don’t just mean chocobos.

This game started the series’ tradition for change and constant innovation. While the team could have followed up the smash hit original with more of the same, they instead decided to mix things up with new mechanics like the proficiency system, where characters skills with weapons and abilities increased the more they used them.

Fans can debate whether they like the sequel or the original game more, but here’s something everyone can agree with: the soundtrack is another masterpiece. Working once again with the limitations of the era, composer Uematsu produced themes and melodies that stand the test of time.

You can play through many of them in THEATRHYTHM FINAL BAR LINE:

  • Finale (FMS)
  • The Rebel Army (EMS/BMS)
  • Battle Theme 1 (BMS)
  • Town (FMS)
  • Main Theme (FMS)
  • Tower of the Magi (FMS)
  • Dungeon (FMS)
  • Battle Theme 2 (BMS)
  • Battle Theme A (BMS)
  • The Imperial Army (FMS)
  • Chocobo Theme (FMS)

Here are a couple of tracks that we can’t wait to play:

The Rebel Army (BMS)

Easily one of the most recognizable tracks from FINAL FANTASY II, the Rebel Army is a stirring march that sets the tone perfectly for this bold new adventure.

By listening to it, you understand how well it’ll work as a rhythm-action stage. The strong beat and instantly-hummable motifs seem tailor-made for a game like THEATRHYTHM FINAL BAR LINE. We look forward to setting some top scores on this one.

Chocobo Theme (FMS)

We’d be kweh-zy not to highlight the original Chocobo Theme!

FINAL FANTASY II was the first game to feature these fine feathered birds, and they’ve become integral to the franchise. Not only do they appear in almost every game since in some way, they’ve also inspired their own spin-offs, such as FINAL FANTASY FABLES: CHOCOBO’S DUNGEON (also represented in THEATRHYTHM FINAL BAR LINE by the way).

It’s not just the birds who have become mainstays of the series though - it’s the music too. This theme repeats across the series and whenever it appears, it’s catchy, fun and instantly memorable. It just warks!

That’s all we have space for in today’s THEATRHYTHM THURSDAY, but we’ll see you next week for more magical music.

THEATRHYTHM FINAL BAR LINE launches February 16, 2023, for Nintendo Switch and PS4. Three editions will be available at launch:

  • Standard Edition: Available physically and digitally, this contains 385 sounds from across the FINAL FANTASY series

  • Digital Deluxe Edition: Contains all songs from the standard edition, plus 27 additional tracks, and Season Pass 1.

  • Premium Digital Deluxe Edition: Contains all songs from the standard edition, plus 27 additional tracks, and Season Passes 1-3.

All these editions are available to preorder now:

To stay up to date with news and information about the game, be sure to follow FINAL FANTASY on social media: