This week, we turn our attention to two more classic FINAL FANTASY games featured in THEATRHYTHM FINAL BAR LINE and the music that defines them.
By Duncan Heaney

Welcome to another THEATRHYTHM THURSDAY!

FINAL FANTASY V and FINAL FANTASY VI were the last mainline games in the series to launch on the Super Nintendo, and the last to use the distinctive pixel art style. Talk about going out with a bang!

From the breezy freedom of FINAL FANTASY V to the epic narrative of FINAL FANTASY VI, the games stand up among the greatest RPGs ever - and of course, the music plays a big part in making them so fondly remembered!

Naturally, the upcoming rhythm action extravaganza THEATRHYTHM FINAL BAR LINE includes many tracks from these games. So lend us an ear, and we’ll discuss some of our favorites:


There’s a ridiculous amount to enjoy in FINAL FANTASY V: the light-hearted tone, the memorably world and, of course, the expanded job system that gave players an unprecedented level of customization over their party.

Musically, the game is another masterpiece by Nobuo Uematsu, full of tracks that are as enjoyable to listen to today as they were back in 1992. It’s well represented in THEATRHYTHM FINAL BAR LINE through the following tracks:

  • Main Theme of Final Fantasy V (BMS)
  • Home, sweet Home (FMS/EMS)
  • Four Hearts (FMS)
  • Battle 1 (BMS)
  • To the North Mountain (FMS)
  • Battle 2 (BMS)
  • Library of Ancients (FMS)
  • Mambo de Chocobo (FMS)
  • The Airship (FMS)
  • The Dawn Warriors (BMS)
  • Battle at the Big Bridge (BMS)
  • A New World (FMS)
  • In Search of Light (FMS)
  • The Decisive Battle (BMS)
  • The Final Battle (BMS)
  • Harvest (FMS)

Let’s take a closer look at some favorites:

Battle at the Big Bridge (BMS)

Iconic. There is no other word to describe this legendary track.

Actually, no, come to think of it there are quite a few - catchy, exhilarating, energetic and brilliant all come to mind. It’s no wonder that it’s become a signature track for the FINAL FANTASY series, appearing in multiple games since its debut in FINAL FANTASY V. You’ll hear it in games like FINAL FANTASY XII, the FINAL FANTASY XIII series, FINAL FANTASY XIV and many more!

The driving rhythms and fast tempo make it the perfect candidate for a rhythm action stage, and one that will really test your dexterity if you crank the difficulty up. Good luck!

Home, Sweet Home (FMS/EMS)

FINAL FANTASY V is one of the funniest games in the series - it has a wry wit that plays with the conventions of fantasy RPGs to often hilarious effect. Even so, there’s also a lot of heart behind the humor, as this track emphasises.

As the name implies, it’s the theme for the town of Lix - the home of main character Bartz Klauser. It’s strong melody easily conjures a sense of peace and belonging. You can go home again, and it sounds great.


FINAL FANTASY VI is the true definition of a ‘fan favorite’. It’s acclaimed for its amazing story, exciting gameplay, memorable characters… and of course, it’s superb soundtrack. For the final game on the Super Nintendo, Uematsu-san brought his A-game, delivering classic track after classic track.

Not only do the perfectly underscore the action, and sound great when listened to on the OSTs, they also make for really great rhythm action stages. Here’s which pieces are in THEATRHYTHM FINAL BAR LINE:

  • Celes's Theme (FMS/EMS)
  • Locke's Theme (BMS)
  • Battle (BMS)
  • Edgar & Sabin's Theme (FMS)
  • Protect the Espers! (BMS)
  • The Decisive Battle (BMS)
  • Terra's Theme (FMS)
  • Grand Finale (BMS)
  • The Airship Blackjack (FMS)
  • Battle to the Death (BMS)
  • Searching for Friends (FMS)
  • Dancing Mad (BMS)
  • Kefka's Tower (FMS)

Let’s listen to some of these amazing pieces:

Terra’s Theme (FMS)

This theme echoes throughout FINAL FANTASY VI. This unforgettable melody first plays in the game’s famous opening, as Terra, Biggs and Wedge march towards city of Narshe in their powerful Magitek armor. It’s also the primary overworld theme for the game, with its sweeping melodies a perfect accompaniment for exploration and adventure.

It’s the perfect theme for the character of Terra too, with the melancholy flute-like sounds reflecting the struggles she faces throughout the game - from her enslavement by the Empire, to her own internal conflict about her dangerous powers.

It’s a unique track that helps give FINAL FANTASY VI such a strong identity of its own!

Searching for Friends (FMS)

Ok, we’re going to be dancing mad around spoilers here just in case some people haven’t played FINAL FANTASY VI.

At some point in the story, a certain person does a certain thing that has as certain set of consequences. The result is that the heroes are scattered around the world and must be reunited once more. During this airship-based search, the overworld music changes to this new theme: Searching for Friends.

It’s an amazing piece of music that captures the sense of hope and excitement that comes with getting the band back together.

Dancing Mad (BMS)

Kefka is one of the most memorable villains in FINAL FANTASY history. He’s not a tortured soul acting out of love like FINAL FANTASY XIII-2’s Caius Ballad, someone who’s been lied to like FINAL FANTASY VII's Sephiroth, or betrayed like FINAL FANTASY XV's Ardyn. He’s just an evil jerk.

So facing off against him is an enticing prospect - most players will be eager to give the laughing harlequin the smackdown he so richly deserves. Of course, Kefka doesn’t go down easy - it’s an epic knockdown brawl against a super-powerful foe with the fate of the world hanging in the balance. All that tension and drama comes through in this truly epic boss theme.

That wraps up another THEATRHYTHM THURSDAY. You’ll be able to experience all these tracks in THEATRHYTHM FINAL BAR LINE, which launches February 16, 2023, for PS4 and Nintendo Switch!

Three editions will be available at launch:

  • Standard Edition: Available physically and digitally, this contains 385 songs from across the FINAL FANTASY series

  • Digital Deluxe Edition: Contains all songs from the standard edition, plus 27 additional tracks, and Season Pass 1.

  • Premium Digital Deluxe Edition: Contains all songs from the standard edition, plus 27 additional tracks, and Season Passes 1-3.

All these editions are available to preorder now. All digital preorders come with 15 ProfiCards to use in game:

To stay up to date with news and information about the game, be sure to follow FINAL FANTASY on social media: