It’s time for a Lightning round! Let’s celebrate the amazing music of FINAL FANTASY XIII.
By Duncan Heaney

It’s time for another THEATRHYTHM THURSDAY!

Today, we’ll be taking a look (and a listen) at the incredible audio of FINAL FANTASY XIII!

Before the game’s release, music fans had high expectations for the soundtrack… and composer Masashi Hamauzu didn’t disappoint. FINAL FANTASY XIII’s soundtrack was imaginative, exciting and extremely memorable - we bet some of you can hum the themes even now.

This unique sound makes it a real highlight of THEATRHYTHM FINAL BAR LINE, too! The stirring field themes and thrilling battle tracks allow for challenging and super-fun music stages.

Here’s what tracks are included in the game (BMS denotes a Battle Music Stage and FMS is a Field Music Stage. Learn all about them here):

  • Defiers of Fate (EMS/BMS)
  • Saber's Edge (BMS)
  • Blinded By Light (BMS)
  • March of the Dreadnoughts (FMS)
  • The Sunleth Waterscape (FMS)
  • Fighting Fate (BMS)
  • Will to Fight (BMS)
  • The Archylte Steppe (FMS)
  • Dust to Dust (FMS)
  • Eden Under Siege (BMS)
  • The Gapra Whitewood (FMS)
  • Desperate Struggle (BMS)
  • Nascent Requiem (BMS)
  • Eternal Love (FMS) (Deluxe Edition Track)

Let’s highlight a few of the tracks we can’t wait to play:

Blinded by Light (BMS)

FINAL FANTASY XIII’s battle theme is seared into my brain - and I bet it’s the same for a few of you, too.

It perfectly captures the game’s exciting strategic combat system - fast-paced and so catchy you want to play again and again.

And in THEATRHYTHM FINAL BAR LINE, I expect many of us will do just that!

The Sunleth Waterscape (FMS)

This is another track that’s iconic to FINAL FANTASY XIII. As the name implies it plays as you explore the Sunleth Waterscape - a vast nature reserve on the floating continent of Cocoon.

In THEATRHYTHM FINAL BAR LINE, you’ll get to play your way through this track, while your party traverses this familiar location. It may not have the same grandeur as its original game, but it makes up for it in cutesy charm!

Fighting Fate (BMS)

You’d expect a track with the title ‘Fighting Fate’ to be pretty epic and… yep. It’s pretty epic. Heard during your battles with Barthandelus, it’s a near-overwhelming cacophony of drums, brass and chorus that give the battles a truly climactic feel.

The lyrics are Latin, but rather brilliantly, they tie into the story itself. The villain even directly quotes them during the story.

“Ragnarok. De Die Irae, l'Cie Pultis. Tuum fatum sequeris. Tuum sanctuarium affligeas.”

Which (very) loosely translates as:

“Raganork, Pulse l’Cie, on the Day of Wrath Follow your destiny and destroy your home.”

As we said: epic.

You’ll get to play through all these tracks and a lot more on February 16, 2023, when THEATRHYTHM FINAL BAR LINE releases for Nintendo Switch and PS4.

Three editions of THEATRHYTHM FINAL BAR LINE will be available at launch:

  • Standard Edition: Available physically and digitally, this contains 385 sounds from across the FINAL FANTASY series

  • Digital Deluxe Edition: Contains all songs from the standard edition, plus 27 additional tracks, and Season Pass 1.

  • Premium Digital Deluxe Edition: Contains all songs from the standard edition, plus 27 additional tracks, and Season Passes 1-3.

All these editions are available to preorder now:

That’s all for now - join us on the blog next week for another THEATRHYTHM THURSDAY. And be sure to follow us on social media too: