FINAL FANTASY XIV: Shadowbringers is out now and available for download

Full details of the expansion here - and find out how to get early access!
By Duncan Heaney

FINAL FANTASY XIV: Shadowbringers is out now and ready to play. As of July 2, 2019, players can start their journey to become the Warrior of Darkness.

Read on, and we'll take a look at what's included in the new expansion:

FINAL FANTASY XIV: Shadowbringers Trailer

During Square Enix E3 Live 2019, we showcased the new trailer for the expansion. Take a look:

New Jobs - Gunbreaker and Dancer

The first new job in the Shadowbringers expansion is the ‘gunbreaker’ – a gunblade-wielding fighter that occupies the tank role. Even better, if you managed to get the collector’s edition (more on that below), you can use Squall’s iconic gunblade, Revolver, from FINAL FANTASY VIII. Check out the gunbreaker in action below:

The next new job is the Dancer. This class attacks with throwing weapons, and uses their moves to damage enemies and add beneficial effects to the party.

New Playable Races

The Viera are a playable race in FINAL FANTASY XIV: Shadowbringers. Their lithe forms and long-ears like rabbits will be familiar to any fans who’ve explored the world of Ivalice in games like FINAL FANTASY XII.

There's also a second new race: the Hrothgar. Like the Viera, these lion-like warriors have unique and customisable features that are specific to their race.

New Raid from the Minds behind NieR:Automata

The Stormblood alliance raid series, Return to Ivalice, will be followed by another exciting collaboration in Shadowbringers! Titled YoRHa: Dark Apocalypse, the new raid series is a collaborative effort featuring special guest creators Yosuke Saito (Square Enix producer) and YOKO TARO (game designer), reuniting the duo that helmed the NieR series.

New Raid with character and boss design by Tetsuya Nomura

Kingdom Hearts' director will also bring his creative talents to this challenging new raid. Take a peek at the character of Gaia:

NPC ‘Trust’ system

This all-new system allows players to tackle Shadowbringers instanced dungeons with familiar NPCs by their side.

New Areas to Explore

Multiple new explorable areas are available in Shadowbringers. Il Mheg - a lush, awe-inspiring vale, the Rak’tika Greatwood - a sprawling forest of ancient, towering sentinels, and the beautiful Lakeland. Take a tour:

There are also new player cities. The Crystarium, which acts as a player hub, and Eulmore - an affluent city ruled by the elite. It plays a key role in the main Shadowbringers storyline".

New Beast Tribe and Primal

The pixies and their mighty regent, Titania have come to FINAL FANTASY XIV with Shadowbringers. The First is also home to the Dwarves - a beast tribe never without their helmets or beards, and the mysterious ‘Sin-eater,’ Innocence.

FINAL FANTASY XIV: Shadowbringers Benchmark tool and character creator

The official FINAL FANTASY XIV: Shadowbringers benchmark software is now available for download.

Not only does it feature footage from the expansion, it also includes a character creator, so you can build your Viera and Hrothgar characters right now. You’ll even be able to carry them into the game.

The software can be downloaded here:

How to get FINAL FANTASY XIV: Shadowbringers

You can buy Shadowbringers right now from the Square Enix Store. Simply head over there and choose the version you want for your preferred platform.