The Nightmare takes Lara Croft into the heart of darkness

New DLC for Shadow of the Tomb Raider is out today!
By Duncan Heaney

The next DLC for Shadow of the Tomb Raider - The Nightmare - forces Lara through a harrowing trial in a very familiar location: Croft Manor.

It’s out today and included for free with the season pass - let’s take a closer look.

What’s included in The Nightmare DLC?

The Nightmare sends Lara Croft on a new mission - one that will push her resolve to the limit.

On the trail of a powerful and mysterious weapon, Lara must journey through a twisted version of her family home and face the traumatic memories of her past.

She’ll face further discord in a new challenge tomb - Howl of the Monkey Gods. Playable both solo and in coop, Lara will have to retune an ancient instrument and restore harmony to nature.

It’ll be a difficult journey, but if Lara survives that nightmare, she’ll become stronger than ever. The new White Breath skill makes Lara’s Fear Arrows affect a wider area, rather than a specific target. Perfect for sowing chaos and panic among Trinity.

She’ll also get some brand new threads. The Scales of Q outfit is crafted from thick hides and solid bones and provides additional resistance against melee attacks. If you’re someone who likes to get up close and personal with your foes, this extra layer of protection could prove invaluable.

The Grip of Fear will also prove useful. This new climbing axe is designed for fighting as much as traversal and gives you a much higher chance to knock enemies down. They’ll stay down for longer too, giving you more time to catch a breath or finish them off.

How do I get The Nightmare DLC?

The Nightmare is included in the Shadow of the Tomb Raider Season Pass.

Get the Shadow of the Tomb Raider Season Pass

If you’ve bought the pass already, it’ll be available to download for free from the PlayStation Store, Xbox Games Store or Steam right now!